Cursive - MFW's Curriculum

Copywork, Cursive, Dictation, Grammar, Handwriting, Letter Writing, Memory Work, Narration, Read-Alouds, Spelling, Vocabulary, & Writing (many of these topics apply to other subjects such as Bible, History, and Science)

Cursive - MFW's Curriculum

Unread postby Melissa » Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:24 pm

baileymom wrote:I think I remember that MFW changed their cursive curriculum in 2009? I've been thinking I'd wing it with DS, 8.5 yrs, but now I'm thinking maybe not...

What is your experience with teaching cursive? Do you like MFW's recommendation? Can I just teach it on my own (both my DDs learned in PS)??? Thanks for any input.

I have no experience since this is my first year hs'ing, but we're using Cursive Connections for my 3rd grader. I waited until after Christmas to start it and it's going pretty well. The book says it's okay to copy, so I just copy the pages incase he has a lot of trouble and needs to redo, but we have only had that happen once or twice. He's a lefty too, but it seems to be very self explanatory and he's not complaining about it. Once we're done, I know we'll need to continue with daily handwriting practice so I'll probably find a copywork book or something like that for him. Since I have nothing to compare it too, I'm not sure what others would say, but we've been happy with it.
Melissa

Re: MFW's Cursive Curriculum

Unread postby TurnOurHearts » Wed Mar 02, 2011 8:32 pm

When my son did cursive, I went with something I found in our local education store. Max being the perfectionist he is, I think he would have loved any program. ;) Halle, on the other hand, I knew would take a good program. (We actually decided to wait a year on cursive with her because her manuscript was still not where I wanted it to be.)