Encouragement - Our first year and getting behind

God's Creation From A to Z: A Complete Kindergarten Curriculum
RachelT

Encouragement - Our first year and getting behind

Unread post by RachelT » Wed Dec 29, 2010 8:01 am

sarah wrote:Hello all,
We are doing MFW K. I am new to HSing and my DS is my only child (for now). We are enjoying the program very much and overall it has been going well. I feel that the phonics are right on for my son and I love that the program is integrated, well rounded, and has helped me feel like I really can do this. It has been fun and my son has learned a lot.

The problem is that I just feel behind. We began in September. According to our hundreds chart, we have only done around 38 days of school (plus the creation unit at the beginning which we did over 7 days). It's hard for me not to feel the pressure of "Will we get done with K on time?" I feel like the "school year" is technically half over so we should have around 60 days in and be half way through the program. Right? We're in NC so there are not any actual state requirements for this age, but I feel slack. And I do want to finish K completely before starting first. And I am eager to keep steady progress so my son keeps learning the phonics.