1st, K, Preschool - Help choosing priorities in CTG

Including using "English From The Roots Up," "God & the History of Art," & Composer Studies
Lucy

1st, K, Preschool - Help choosing priorities in CTG

Unread post by Lucy » Wed Feb 21, 2007 7:24 pm

sheilanne wrote:I have some priority questions. I am in my fourth year using MFW. I started with MFWK then MFW1 with my two oldest. We did everything, every library book, every experiment, stuff I added to expand when I wanted to, extra art projects, etc. It was wonderful. Then I did ADV and was able to go more "by the book" since it was more appropriate for my older daughter. This year, I am doing MFWK with #3 dc and ECC with #1 and #2. However, also this year we joined a co-op that meets from 9-4:30 every Mon. The co-op offers classes that meet the NYS requirement. Health, art, science, writing, music and Spanish are all covered through the co-op with homework. It's been wonderful, but it's been tough trying to figure out exactly what to make my top priorities in ECC and MFWK. We've been through some trial and error.

My questions are related to next year. I plan to do CTG and MFW1 and then some pre-K/K4 stuff. I'm going to need to do some prioritizing again. What do you feel are the most important parts of CTG, the parts that shouldn't be missed? And what parts can be minimized or eliminated entirely without tremendous detriment to the program? I love everything about MFW so eliminating anything feels like cutting off a finger, but we can only do so much.
Hi Sheila,

This is a hard and tricky question because I think that some families would chose different things but I am going to give you my thoughts and I am sure others will have some too.

Bible-yes, very connected to this years study of history

Vocabulary(English From the Roots Up)-this does not take much time each day and is very valuable in building reading skills.

History-yes