Schedule - Ideas for daily routines, mornings

Art, Foreign Language, Music, Nature Walks, as well as general ideas and encouragement
kellybell

Schedule - Ideas for daily routines, mornings

Unread post by kellybell » Wed Sep 07, 2005 8:58 pm

momof3boys wrote:I need some tips from you who have more than one homeschooling. This is my first year of having 2 and I am having difficulties balancing them.

I have a 7yo ds doing MFW1 and a 5yo ds doing MFWK. It seems that my oldest is getting all the attention and the younger is not getting much. I am not getting to do anything with him beyond the creation book. The other steps of the day get lost.

My oldest needs absolute quiet and one on one attention for school. We have 3 boys, so it's never quiet in our house. He ends up going in my bedroom for schoolwork where the other one does it at the table. Going back and forth is tiring.

Should I just do one in the morning and the other in the afternoon?
Thanks for the help! -wendy
Yes, I'm sure it IS tiring going back and forth, but at least your oldest guy can concentrate. So, maybe that's what you need to do.

I've got four school-aged kids. I did my best to come up with a schedule so that each kid gets a little bit of me. I won't waste space here detailing my schedule (unless you want it???). However, here are a few things that work for us...

1. Get the oldest two going on their independent stuff first. Use this time for lessons and such for the younger two.

2. Allow the little ones to do a craft or something like that (I have a love-hate relationship with Play-Doh) while I work with the big kids.

3. Allow the little wigglers to doodle during Bible time or other story time (but not during prayer time). I find that my son, especially, listens and retains things much better if he can sit still with some markers and paper. So, I just get out those things first thing in the morning.