Science - Why is Apologia Elementary not used until Year 3?

Art, Foreign Language, Music, Nature Walks, as well as general ideas and encouragement
cbollin

Science - Why is Apologia Elementary not used until Year 3?

Unread post by cbollin » Wed Jan 25, 2006 3:39 am

TommyGirl wrote:I am new to MFW and I am so excited to be here! I just want to say thank you to the Hazells for creating this for all of us. The focus and the heart of it is so God-honoring.

My question involves science. I know that the science seems to be integrated into the other subjects we are studying. However, I have looked at Apologia elementary science and absolutely loves the way it looks. I noticed that MFW does use Apologia Creation, but not until year three. I was wondering if there was a reason for using it so late in the cycle. Is it too difficult a program to be used with earlier ages?

Tiffini
For the first question you ask, why was it so late in the cycle. Maybe because of the publication dates from Apologia. If I remember this correctly, Exploring Creation Astronomy was published in summer of 2004. The Botany book was released shortly after that.

I'm using the Astronomy book this year with a 4th grader with a 1st grader watching. My personal opinion is that the book is geared for upper elementary ages (3rd-6th ish) but that younger siblings will enjoy it. In other words, if my oldest were 1st grade, I'd hold off on the book. I just think that the information is better understood once they are a little older.