Schedule - Starting MFW in 6-8th grade or mid-year

Issues specific to teaching 6th to 8th graders, including the transition to Saxon math, Apologia science, Progeny Press guides, and grammar lessons
Julie in MN

Schedule - Starting MFW in 6-8th grade or mid-year

Unread post by Julie in MN »

Starting mfw mid year with 8th grader
Kim4 wrote:I am new to MFW and need advice. I will be doing the high school program next year with my current 8th grader. The curriculum we are using now isn't working well and I thought I'd try MFW now with him. Is that doable? Which level do I use? He is the youngest I am teaching. I thought I could start him in this program now in preparation for next year when we will do Ancient History and Lit. Any thoughts??

Thank you,
Kim
Hi Kim,
MFW recommends beginning with ECC at the investigate level.

My situation was a tiny bit like yours. My son finished the MFW family cycle in the middle of 8th grade (end of January is our semester break here in MN). Thus he had one semester left before high school. We did ECC that semester and I feel it was a good choice.

The geography is always helpful, the focus on God's love for the world is always nice before starting with ancients and the fall away from God, and ECC has specific recommendations for 7-8th graders so that makes it easy to use for those grades.