Math - Continue Drill in 7-8th?

Issues specific to teaching 6th to 8th graders, including the transition to Saxon math, Apologia science, Progeny Press guides, and grammar lessons
TriciaMR

Math - Continue Drill in 7-8th?

Unread post by TriciaMR » Sat Aug 28, 2010 10:02 pm

Melissa wrote:Hi! I'm a homeschool newbie and will be starting after Labor Day with my four children (three older in ECC and youngest in K). Thankfully there are the lesson plans in the manual, so that is helping me. I'm interested to know what type of Drill Activities I should be doing for my oldest (a 7th grader). Do you skip that when they are older? She doesn't need to work on her math facts any longer, so I'm assuming I omit that for her. Thanks for any info! :)

Melissa
Some things you might consider...

fractions (fractions to decimal, decimal to factions, equivalent fractions, lowest common denominator)
percentages

You could go to the Quarter Mile Math website and see what types of drill they have in their highest level and see if that spawns any more ideas for you.

And, maybe typing drill (I know, not math - but it might be something you want to throw in there).

Posted Fri Apr 29, 2011 9:03 am by TriciaMR
I'll be doing them as long as my kids need them. My oldest is dyslexic, so memorizing math facts just takes longer. She's good with Addition, getting close with Multiplication, but I'm not sure she'll ever have Subtraction and Division down. Not her favorite thing, but it is something she can do independently while I'm working with my younger ones.

I think if they have those down, then you might look at fraction-decimal equivalents - it sure is handy knowing 1/2 = .5 just off the top of your head. If you've not had them work on typing/keyboarding, then you might throw that in, instead of math drill.

-Trish
Trish - Wife to Phil, Mom to Toni(18), Charlie(14), and Trent(14)
2014-2015 - AHL, CTG
2015-2016 - WHL, RTR
2016-2017 - EXP1850, US1877
2017-2018 - DE, 1850MOD