Narration help

Learning God's Story
Julie in MN

Narration help

Unread post by Julie in MN » Fri Feb 20, 2009 1:20 pm

microcarter wrote:My 6 year old ds is just not getting the narration in 1st and we are on day 94! So a while back I started breaking the story down into smaller parts and having him tell me one part before I would read the rest. This works fairly well most days but today he was just not with it. I've never done narration before so I have nothing to compare this to. Am I doing something wrong? What can I do better or differently? Is it unusual for a 6 year old boy to struggle with this? Any suggestions would be great because I'm starting to tense up and grit my teeth every time we try to do this.
One thing I wanted to mention is that every child will be different when it comes to producing language. Some kids will readily jump in and wing it -- those kids you may have to rein in at a later time. Other kids will feel that "books" or "moms" are so perfect that they can never compete -- those kids you may be pulling things out of gradually over several years.

Now I'll back out & let the experienced 1st grade teachers give you tips on how to help your particular type of child. Oh, and more narration ideas are here:
http://board.mfwbooks.com/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=500
http://board.mfwbooks.com/viewtopic.php ... 559#p45243
Julie
Julie, married 29 yrs, finding our way without Shane
(http://www.CaringBridge.org/visit/ShaneHansell)
Reid (21) college student; used MFW 3rd-12th grades (2004-2014)
Alexandra (29) mother; hs from 10th grade (2002)
Travis (32) engineer; never hs

momto6

Re: Help With MFW 1 Narration

Unread post by momto6 » Fri Feb 20, 2009 1:33 pm