Choosing 1st vs. Adventures

Learning God's Story
Wendy B.

Choosing 1st vs. Adventures

Unread post by Wendy B. » Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:22 pm

Help me choose!
Mrs. Lilac wrote:She was just way ahead and had already started reading, and she got really bored with the phonics stuff. She's reading probably around a 3rd grade level and writing really well. I just wasn't wanting to risk her being bored and having to chuck everything AGAIN. Does that make sense? I'm not looking to push her, but I also don't want her so bored that she dreads it. (Also, just FYI, she will be 6 in June.)
I'm a MFW newbie but have been homeschooling many, many years. It is almost always better to enhance rather than advance.
If she is bored with the phonics stuff then turn it into a spelling lesson. It's awesome that she can read around a 3rd grade level but can she spell at a 3rd grade level....write at a 3rd level? Can she write a sentence summary from one of her books?

I just started MFW 1 with my 6yo son who will turn 7 in June. Even though I know he needs more phonics these first few weeks are very much review. These first few weeks are about review of letter sounds and blending. Kinda boring, right? So I challenge him to think of all the words he can for each blend. If for the blend -ag he comes up with wag I yawn and roll my eyes and ask if that's the best he can do? HA! Today his word for the blend -ag was agriculture. Since he is already reading I do have him read to me for 10-15 minutes per day in addition to the reading lesson with MFW1. In addition to the recommended 15 min daily read aloud I also have several weekly selections that I read. I also make sure we include the picture study, poetry( and memorization) , nature study and extra science books ( great selections!). It will be a full pleasant year.