7-plus yrs old - Using MFW1 for grade 2+ language arts

Learning God's Story
Sue in MN

7-plus yrs old - Using MFW1 for grade 2+ language arts

Unread post by Sue in MN » Sat Jul 30, 2005 11:00 pm

hornwarner wrote:Hello!
My 7 year old daughter is going to begin MFW1 in the fall...even though she would be (should be???) starting "2nd grade". I am new to homeschooling and I am fearful I am going to mess her up. OR should I start supplementing and start 3rd grade next year?? Is anyone else in this boat?

Please lend your sage advice!!
Love,
Rebecca in Minnesota
Mom to Lucy 7 and Vivienne 4
First of all in MN you don't have to attend school until you are 7, so having your dd in 1st grade is just fine. I would just do the MFW 1 as is and then decide if you have to change anything. Remember you are teaching the child not the book. Just lead her gently from where she is now to where you want her to go. Relax and enjoy the journey.

kfrench

It worked really well

Unread post by kfrench » Wed Dec 20, 2006 6:22 pm

Posted: Mon Nov 06, 2006 4:10 pm
I actually did MFW1 for second grade for my older dd and it worked really well. There is a lot of writing and I think it really was good when I did it with my older dd to do all the writing. So even if you did phonics in something else. doing the reader and the notebook would be great for getting him writing especially if he likes drawing pictures and likes bible stories. The bible stories gave my dd confidence in her reading because she knew the stories and so could figure out the hard words easier.

So it would depend on what your son needed.
kfrench

cbollin

MFW 1st for an older child's reading

Unread post by cbollin » Sat Apr 26, 2008 1:28 am

zook5 wrote:Hi, I am wondering if anyone has taken a child back to 1st Grade at almost 8. She is registered as a 2nd grader this year. Her reading is weak.