Struggling with first grade math

Post questions and comments here. All messages posted in this area will stay active for a time. Older posts will be deleted or archived to one of the areas below.
carmel1217

Struggling with first grade math

Unread post by carmel1217 » Tue Feb 27, 2018 5:15 pm

Hi!

I am using MFW first grade with my 6 year old daughter, and we are at the point where we are doing two digit addition (week 18). It is way too hard for her! Has anyone else had experience with this? She is just not ready for this. She can identify and work with single digit numbers and manipulatives just fine, but she is just not ready for double digits. She was doing fine with math up until now, but this is too hard for her at this point. Any thoughts on how to proceed from here? She is my first child, so this is my first time doing this, and when I come across something that she apparently "should" be able to do, but can't, I start to feel freaked out and like I don't know what I should do!

Thanks for any thoughts or insights!

Rachel

Julie - Staff

Re: Struggling with first grade math

Unread post by Julie - Staff » Sat Mar 03, 2018 3:26 pm

Hi Rachel,
Sorry about the slow reply - it's been a busy week with the end of sale, whew!

Some kids will be roaring to go with the intro of 2-digit addition in Week 18. To others, it will sound like a foreign language at first, and just a small seed will be planted. The same goes for Week 19, with the concept of greater- and less-than.

Use the suggested Unifix cube activities to teach the concepts in Week 18, and reinforce with those hands-on methods for as long as needed. She is a fortunate student to have a teacher who is attuned to whether she is ready to move beyond the hands-on -- or not.