Compare MFW to living books/Charlotte Mason curriculum?

shasas

Compare MFW to living books/Charlotte Mason curriculum?

Unread post by shasas » Fri Sep 29, 2006 4:41 am

jocelynaz wrote:Hello ~ I am totally new to MFW. My friend just told me about it a couple of hours ago and I've been online researching all I can about it. :)

I was curious to know...has anyone previously switched from using a living books curriculum to MFW?? If so, what has your experience been since you've switched? How would you compare the two? We currently use a full curriculum based on Charlotte Mason's approach to education. We have enjoyed it a lot, but one of the things that I've been wanting to incorporate in my curriculum is unit studies and more hands on activities. MFW has all the components of a curriculum I've been looking for - biblical worlview, classical, charlotte mason, unit studies! I've been very encouraged by all of the posts I've read so far and have even downloaded a message by David Hazell titled "Combining Classical, Charlotte Mason, & Unit Studies with a Christian Perspective". It was awesome!! And David's style of speaking is wonderful - very enjoyable, funny and very down to earth/realistic. I thoroughly enjoyed this message because it put everything I loved about each of these approaches to education into a very realistic perspective for me.

MFW seems to be something that would fit our homeschooling, but I wanted to get more feedback, just for my own comfort and confirmation.
Jocelyn
Hi Jocelyn,

I have never homeschooled before this, my daughter is in 1st grade. However, I know I am probably the only other one online right now and wanted to take a moment to say welcome!

I heard David and Marie at the local convention this past summer. Their focus and approach and all-over attitude about why we do this homeschooling was so in line with my own thoughts, I was sold on MFW very quickly.