Hands-on - Can MFW work if we LIKE/learn by reading??

cbollin

Hands-on - Can MFW work if we LIKE/learn by reading??

Unread post by cbollin » Sun Oct 15, 2006 8:49 pm

qfbrenda wrote:I'm having a debate with myself for next year... My biggest fear about using MFW is that we won't have enough books, but I've been told that the book basket takes care of that.

And I'm not very good at hands-on stuff... I'm wondering if a non-hands-on mom would fit well with MFW.

But if I can add lots more books to MFW, and maybe skip some of the hands-on stuff, MFW might give me the structure that I need, but allow each kiddo to be reading at their own level rather than slowing one down and rushing another ahead.

Anyway... next year, I'll have (all boys!):
10.5 yr old, 5th grade
8 yr old, hopefully 3rd grade
6 yr old, K/1st grade
3 yr old
8 month old

I'm open to thoughts... suggestions... whatever.
Hi Brenda, welcome to the board.

One of the nice things in book basket is that each child can adjust it for their level of reading. With book basket selections you and your 3rd grader should be able to find all kinds of ideas for your 3rd grader. You could still use the books you have for your 5th grader in addition to book basket. No reason you can’t do that. There is also individual reading time “scheduled” in the daily lesson guide, so you can add as many other books (either purchased or library) as you would like. I think it is great that your oldest loves to read. And when you have to work with a 6 y.o and tend to a 3 y.o and an toddler --- what a great way for that child to still be doing school while real life is happening.

Hands on crafts. I’m not much of a craft person, but I have found that the activities in MFW are doable and done with easy to find supplies. My 5th grader tends to grab the teacher’s manual and do the set up for herself and younger sister. Be sure to check on the thread about Hands on activities really work!