Testing - Is it helpful? Prep? Hints?

Art, Foreign Language, Music, Nature Walks, as well as general ideas and encouragement
4Truth

Testing - Is it helpful? Prep? Hints?

Unread post by 4Truth » Tue Feb 06, 2007 3:23 pm

Kristi Covey wrote:My hs co-op offers Iowa testing in the spring. My son is doing mfw1 this year and I'm wondering if testing would show his strengths and weeknesses and where he stands with other kids his age, mainly to answer questions from extended family. I live in Indiana, so testing isn't required, but is it helpful?
Thank you!
Kristi
I wouldn't do it at this age. I'm not a big proponent of standardized testing for ages below middle school for many reasons.

Those tests can't possibly show what all a 1st grader truly "comprehends", and learning styles can even change somewhat between K and 4th. A lot of maturing goes on during those years. Even most states (at least the ones I've looked at) don't require standardized testing below 3rd grade. There's a reason for that. ;o)
Donna, with two MFW graduates and the "baby" in 11th grade! %| Using MFW since 2004.

LSH in MS

Unread post by LSH in MS » Tue Feb 06, 2007 3:32 pm

State testing is required in Ga beginning in 3rd grade and every 3rd year thereafter.

I began it with my children after 1st grade just to have them practice and I was curious how they would do. I liked doing it every year just so I could compare their improvement from year to year. It did help me somewhat with their strengths and weaknesses but some of the results didn't seem accurate, i.e their work at home demonstrated they knew more than the tests showed.

As long as you don't get too emotional or make your decisions based on the scores only, it can be a good thing. I decided to work a little more on their weaknesses but didn't do anything drastic such as changing curricula just because they didn't score well in a particular area.

I liked it that they are getting practice taking tests.
Lori