Cuisenaire Rods, Questions & Experiences

God's Creation From A to Z: A Complete Kindergarten Curriculum
Lucy

Cuisenaire Rods, Questions & Experiences

Unread post by Lucy » Sun Aug 28, 2005 9:18 pm

Cuisenaire Rods - Are they scheduled?
kelmommy wrote:I'm new to MFWK and I just got my curriculum last week. I've been reading thru it all trying to get everything organized and planned.

I'm not seeing anywhere it says in the Lesson Plans to use the Math Blocks. It is something extra to do it or am I just missing it? Thanks
The deluxe package comes with a book, Cuisenaire Rods Alphabet Book, that you use the blocks with each week. You do a letter a week. This was just added this year so the change has not been made in the T.M. but you just follow the directions in the book. It is a great addition to the K math but is not essential.

You can order this book separately also. It helps to develop all kinds of math skills.

Otherwise, the blocks are to be used as you are teaching math concepts for early addition and subtraction. They are a visual help so that your child can see the concept and manipulate them to find the answer. They are also highly suggested to be used in MFW 1 and into 2nd grade math as well.
wife to Lee and mom to Twila 18 (girl) and Noel 16(boy). Happy MFW user since 2002.

Poohbee

Cuisenaire Rods & Alpha Book have been helpful

Unread post by Poohbee » Fri May 18, 2007 9:13 pm

Hi!

We're just finishing up K, and we did use the Cuisenaire Rods alphabet book with blocks. We used the book and blocks just one day a week.

First, my dd would build the letter in several different ways. I used the questions in the book to guide her. Then, I gave her the picture page for each letter, and she built those. Finally, I gave her some free building time with the blocks. We just did it as an oral exercise.